California Car Seat Law Changes

EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2017

Most children will
outgrow an infant seat
before age 1

The next step is a convertible car seat.
Rear facing is 5 times safer than forward facing.

The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends
that children ride rear facing to the highest weight
or height allowed by the car seat manufacturer.

Kaitlyn's Law

It's against California law to leave a child who is 6 years of

age or younger alone in the car without the supervision
of a person at least 12 years old if:

1. The keys are in the ignition or the car is running, or

2. There is a significant risk to the child.
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Starting January 1, proper ly buckled in

2017, children a car seat which is
under 2 years

old must be rear
facing unless they
weigh 40 pounds or
more, or are 40 inches
tall or more.

CURRENT LAW

Children under age 8 must be buckled
into a car seat or booster in the back seat.

Children age 8 or older, or who are 4’9"
or taller, may use the vehicle seat belt if
it fits properly with the lap belt low on
the hips, touching the upper thighs, and
the shoulder belt crossing the center of
the chest. If children are not tall enough
for proper belt fit, they must ride in a
booster or car seat.

Everyone in the car must be properly
buckled up.

FINES & PENALTIES

For each child under 16 who is not properly
secured, parents (if in the car) or drivers can be
fined more than $500 and get a point on their
driving records.

Keep your children safe. It's the law!
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CALIFORNIA Wo're always with you.*

For answers to your child safety seat questions,
contact your local health department or visit cdph.ca.gov/vosp.





