

# State of California—Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health



## **Assembly Bill 1276 Fact Sheet**

Governor Gavin Newsom signed into law AB 1276. The new law changes the **Public Resource Code** in the area of single-use food accessories and standard condiments. This is an addition to the single-use plastic straws law. The law will take effect January 1, 2022.

#### **SUMMARY OF THE CHANGES:**

## Public Resource Code Chapter 5.2 Single-Use Foodware Accessories and Condiments

Sec. 2. 42270 – new definitions

- (e) "Single-use foodware accessory" means all of the following single-use items provided alongside ready-to-eat food:
  - 1. Utensils, which is defined as forks, knives, spoons, and sporks
  - 2. Chopsticks
  - 3. Condiment cups and packets
  - 4. Straws
  - 5. Stirrers
  - 6. Splash sticks
  - 7. Cocktail sticks
- (f) "Standard Condiment" means relishes, spices, sauces, confections, or seasoning that require no additional preparation and tat are usually used on a food item after preparation, including ketchup, mustard, mayonnaise, soy sauce, hot sauce, salsa, salt pepper, sugar, and sugar substitutes.

# Important Information for Retail Food Industry by Section

## Sec.3. 42271

In order to reduce the amount of waste created from single-use items the retail food industry is now required to:

- 1. Only provide single-use accessories to consumers upon request
- 2. Only provide single-use accessories required to eat the ready-to-eat food



- 3. No bundling of single-use accessories or condiments
- 4. Only offer those single-use items needed to eat or prevent spillage of the ready-to-eat food at a drive-through as well as in a public use airport
- 5. A third-party delivery platform shall provide consumers with the option to request singleuse accessories
- 6. A food facility that uses a third-party platform shall customize their menu with a list of available single-use accessories or condiment. Only those items chosen by the consumer will be delivered. If no single-use accessories or condiments are requested non will be provided
- 7. Unwrapped single-use foodware accessories that are self-serve, standard condiments that are self-serve, and/or bulk dispensed condiments may still be used

## Sec. 4. 42272

- 1. A city, county, or city and county have until June 1, 2022 to authorize an enforcement agency for the law
- 2. First and second violations results in a notice of violation, any additional violation carries a \$25 fine not to exceed \$300 annually

## Sec. 5. 42273

The law does not apply to the following:

- 1. Correctional institutions
- 2. Licensed health care facilities
- 3. Residential care facilities
- 4. Public and private school cafeterias