

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health



July 5, 2019 AFL 19-24

TO: All Health Facilities

SUBJECT: Fiscal Year (FY) 2019-20 Health Care Facilities License Fee Schedule

and Reminder to Validate Licensee Address is Accurate

AUTHORITY: Health and Safety Code (HSC) section 1266

All Facilities Letter (AFL) Summary

- This AFL informs licensees of FY 2019-20 license renewal fees effective July 1, 2019.
- Licensees are responsible for ensuring the address on file with the department is accurate.

The <u>FY 2019-20 License Fee schedule</u> (PDF) is available on the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), Center for Health Care Quality (CHCQ), Licensing and Certification Program (L&C) website at:

(https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHCQ/LCP/Pages/LC-Health-Care-Facility-Licensing-Fees.aspx)

Please forward a copy of this AFL to the person or company that normally remits payment for renewal of your health care facility operating license fee.

Reminder

Please be advised that all facilities are responsible to ensure their licensee address on file is current and accurate. CHCQ generates and mails health care facility license renewal notices and invoices to facilities using the licensee address on file. Facilities are encouraged to verify their licensing address on file at the <u>Cal Health Find Database</u>:

(https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHCQ/LCP/CalHealthFind/pages/home.aspx)

If the address on file is not current, please complete and send in a copy of the <u>Licensure</u> & Certification Application (form HS-200) (PDF) as soon as possible.



Renewal Notices

CHCQ will send renewal notices and applications to the facility's licensee 45-120 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the responsibility of the facility's licensee to obtain a renewal notice. If the licensee does not receive a renewal notice within 45 days prior to the license expiration date, contact the CHCQ Fiscal Services and Revenue Collection Unit (FSRCU) at RCollection@cdph.ca.gov, or by telephone at (916) 552-8700 or (800) 236-9747.

Late Payment Penalties

HSC section 1266.5 requires CHCQ to impose late payment penalties for health care facilities and agencies that are delinquent in paying license renewal fees. CHCQ uses the post office or delivery service <u>postmark</u> date to assess late payment penalty fees. California law does not allow a grace period for payment of license fees. Failure to pay license renewal fees and associated late payment penalties may result in CHCQ initiating legal proceedings to revoke the facility's/agency's license.

Medi-Cal Offsets

HSC section 1266.5(c) specifies that CDPH may, upon written notification to the licensee, offset any monies owed to the licensee by the Medi-Cal program or any other payment program administered by CDPH, to recoup the license renewal fees and any associated late payment penalties.

How to Complete your License Renewal

- Validate the number of beds/facilities listed on the renewal fee page. If the number of beds/facilities is not correct, contact the Centralized Applications Branch (CAB) immediately so they can correct this information.
- 2. Clearly print applicable health care facility license number(s) on both the check and the stub.
- 3. Cut off the bottom portion of the renewal notice fee page for each facility and include the slips in the payment envelope/package. Mail <u>only the renewal payment</u> to Fiscal Services and Revenue Collection Unit (FSRCU) at one of the following addresses:

Normal Mailing Address	Overnight Mailing Address
California Department of Public Health Center for Health Care Quality Licensing and Certification Program Fiscal Services and Revenue Collection Unit MS 3202 P.O. Box 997434 Sacramento, CA 95899-7434	California Department of Public Health Center for Health Care Quality Licensing and Certification Program Fiscal Services and Revenue Collection Unit MS 3202 1616 Capitol Avenue, Suite 74.420 Sacramento, CA 95814-7402

- 4. Mail the <u>application</u> portion of the renewal notice to CAB as indicated at the bottom of the last page of the application. Do not mail the application portion to FSRCU as this may delay receipt of your license. CHCQ will not be responsible for lost applications.
- 5. CHCQ strongly recommends licensees use a mailing method that includes the ability to track the status of mailed payments.
- 6. Please allow 4-6 weeks for license processing.

If you have license fee questions, please contact FSRCU by email at RCollection@cdph.ca.gov, or by telephone at (916) 552-8700 or (800) 236-9747.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Heidi W. Steinecker

Heidi W. Steinecker Deputy Director

Attachment