The fastest way to renew your HIPP Program is to work directly with your local Medication Assistance Program Enrollment Worker. Clients who are enrolled in a health plan through Covered California and want to maintain enrollment into the HIPP Program must submit:
Within two days of renewing your health plan through Covered California, you must submit your health plan documents to your local Medication Assistance Program Enrollment Worker, or directly to the CDPH Medication Assistance Program.
Please note: Clients who enroll in a health plan through Covered California must submit documents to the CDPH Medication Assistance Program by November 30, 2020 for a January 1, 2021 start date. If you submit documents to CDPH after this date, it is recommended you make the initial premium payment to secure your health insurance. Otherwise, you may not receive a January 1, 2021 effective date.
How to Submit Documents
Work with your local Medication Assistance Program Enrollment Worker to submit documents electronically (THIS IS THE FASTEST AND PREFERRED METHOD), or
Email, fax, or mail the documents to CDPH:
- Email: CDPH MedAssistFax@cdph.ca.gov
- Fax: (844) 421-8008
- Mail: CDPH – Insurance Assistance
P.O. Box 997426, MS 7704
Sacramento, CA 95899
Open Enrollment Dates for Covered California
Open enrollment for Covered California is November 1, 2020 through January 31, 2021.
Tax Credit/Premium Subsidy
You may qualify for an APTC and/or the State Premium Assistance Subsidy Program to help pay for your insurance premium.
If you qualify for APTC or State Premium Assistance Subsidy Program, you must accept the full amount to qualify for the HIPP Program.
Having health coverage is the law. If you don’t have it, you may have to pay a penalty to the California Franchise Tax Board. The penalty for not having coverage the entire year will be at least $750 per adult, and $375 per dependent child under 18 in the household, when you file your 2020 state income tax return in 2021.
The penalty will be applied by the California Franchise Tax Board. For additional information or questions regarding this tax penalty, please visit the State of California State Franchise Tax Board and use their Penalty Estimator Tool, or contact your tax advisor.
Changes in your household size, income, or home address must be reported to Covered California within 30-days using the following methods:
- Call Covered California at (800) 300-1506, or
- Log in to your Covered California account
If these changes adjust your APTC, State Premium Assistance Subsidy, and/or premium, you must notify the HIPP Program immediately by submitting updated documentation.
For questions about Medication Assistance Program eligibility and enrollment, please call:
- Your local Medication Assistance Program Enrollment Worker, or
- The Medication Assistance Program Client Services call center at (844) 421-7050. Client Services staff are available Monday – Friday, 8 A.M. – 5 P.M. (excluding holidays).