





California Conference of Local Health Officers

Program Mission:

The mission of the California Conference of Local Health Officers (CCLHO) is to prevent disease and improve the health of all California residents. The Conference was established by statute in 1947 to advise the Department of Health Services (now the California Department of Public Health), other departments, boards, commissions, and officials of federal, state and local agencies, the Legislature and other organizations on all matters affecting health.

Program Description:

The membership of CCLHO includes the 61 legally appointed physician health officers in California, one from each of the 58 counties and the three cities of Berkeley, Long Beach and Pasadena. CCLHO provides a state/local forum for the discussion of significant health issues in order to develop recommendations for appropriate health policy. Its various program committees consider technical and policy issues in communicable disease control and prevention; chronic disease and injury prevention; environmental health; health equity; maternal, child and adolescent health; and health systems integration.

2021/2022 Board of Directors:

Executive Committee			Members at Large
President:	Anissa Davis, MD, MPH, Long Beach		Ying-Ying Goh, MD, MSHS, Pasadena
President-Elect:	Eric Sergienko, MD, MPH, Mariposa		Henning Ansorg, MD, FACP, Santa Barbara
Secretary:	Gail Newel, MD, MPH, Santa Cruz		Robert Levin, MD, Ventura
Treasurer:	Nancy Williams, MD, MPH, El Dorado		Penny Borenstein, MD, MPH, San Luis Obispo
Legislative Coordinator:	Phuong Luu, MD, Yuba-Sutter		
Regulations Coordinator:	Aimee Sisson, MD, MPH, Yolo		Maggie Park, MD, San Joaquin
Executive-at-large:	Vacant		Andy Coren, MD, Mendocino
Past-President:	Julie Vaishampayan, MD, MPH, Stanislaus		Nicholas Moss, MD, MPH, Alameda
Committee Chairs			
Chronic Disease & Injury Prevention:		Wilma Wooten, MD, MPH, San Diego	
Communicable Disease Control & Prevention:		Barbara Cole, RN, MSN, PHN, Riverside & George Han, MD, MPH, San Francisco	
Environmental Health:		Steve Munday, MD, MPH, Imperial & Sara Levin, MD, Contra Costa	
Health Equity:		Muntu Davis, MD, MPH, Los Angeles & Christine Wu, MD, MPH, Solano	
Health Systems Integration:		Phuong Luu, MD, Yuba/Sutter County	
Maternal, Child & Adolescent Health:		Gail Newel, MD, MPH, Santa Cruz & Curtis Chan, MD, MPH, San Francisco	

Program Legal Authority:

California Health and Safety Code, sections 100290, 100295, 100925 and 100950.