

## State of California—Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health



May 26, 2022

TO: REGISTRANTS

COLD STORAGE OR REFRIGERATION FACILITY LICENSE

FROZEN FOOD LOCKER PLANT LICENSE

PET FOOD PROCESSOR LICENSE/REGISTRATION PRIVATE WATER SOURCE OPERATOR'S LICENSE

WATER HAULER'S LICENSE

PROCESSED FOOD REGISTRATION WATER BOTTLING PLANT LICENSE

**BOTTLED WATER DISTRIBUTOR LICENSE** 

RETAIL WATER FACILITY LICENSE

WATER VENDING MACHINE OPERATOR'S LICENSE

SUBJECT: FEE INCREASE EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2022

Effective July 1, 2022, the Food and Drug Branch (FDB) will increase fees by 14.60% as authorized by the Budget Act of 2021, in accordance with California Health and Safety (H&S) Code Section 100425. This increase and publication of the fee list is not subject to the regulation adoption requirements specified in Chapter 3.5 (commencing with section 11340) of Part 1, Division 3, Title 2 of the Government Code.

The new fee schedule was determined in accordance with the aforementioned Budget Act criterion based on a review of current expenditures and the revenues needed to support program administration.

The table below shows the current fees and the fee increases taking effect on July 1, 2022. Most increases are under \$80/year and the increases for the largest facilities\*^ are less than \$300/year. The new amounts will be included in all billing notices for payments required on or after July 2, 2022.



	Fees		
Туре	Current (Annual)	New (Annual)	Renewal (Annual)
Cold Storage or Refrigeration Facility License	\$290	\$332	\$332
Frozen Food Locker Plant License	\$144	\$165	\$165
Pet Food Processor License/Registration	\$290	\$332	\$332
Private Water Source Operator's License	\$540	\$619	\$619
Water Hauler's License	\$540	\$619	\$619
Bottled Water Distributor License	\$540	\$619	\$619
Retail Water Facility License	\$540	\$619	\$619
Water Vending Machine Operator's License	\$46	\$53	\$53
Water Bottling Plant License	\$540-	\$619-	\$619-
	\$1,525*	\$1,748*	\$1,748*
Processed Food Registration	\$398-	\$456-	\$456-
	\$2,045^	\$2,344^	\$2,344^

<sup>\*</sup>Fees for the Water Bottling Plant License vary, depending on amount of gallons of water produced.

IMPORTANT NOTE: Penalty fees for late submission of renewal applications will not change. All fees are rounded to the nearest dollar:

- Processed Food Registration: A penalty of one percent per month shall be added to any registration fee not paid on time
- Pet Food Processor License/Registration: The penalty for failure to apply for renewal of a license registration certificate within 30 days after the expiration date is \$30, added to the renewal fee

This letter and the table are posted on the internet at <a href="www.cdph.ca.gov/fdb">www.cdph.ca.gov/fdb</a> under "Forms and Applications."

If you have any questions concerning the new fee amounts please e-mail FDB at <a href="mailto:fdbinfo@cdph.ca.gov">fdbinfo@cdph.ca.gov</a> or contact us at (916) 650-6500.

Sincerely,

Benson Yee, Chief Food and Drug Branch

Division of Food and Drug Safety Center for Environmental Health

<sup>^</sup>Fees for the Processed Food Registration vary depending on the facility location, type of operation (manufacturing vs. storing), the number of employees, and square footage.