The California Safe Cosmetics Act of 2005 requires manufacturers, packers, and/or distributors of cosmetic products to report to the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) all products sold in California on or after January 1, 2007, which contain ingredients known or suspected to cause cancer, birth defects, or other reproductive harm. Companies making one million dollars ($1,000,000) or more in aggregate sales of cosmetic products within and outside of California are required to report.
Reporting should be done on a continuous basis, both for new products and product reformulations. When a product becomes reportable, companies will be given one month (30 days) to report this information.
Links to the online reporting system and other resources for reporting are listed below.
CSCP searchable product database
The searchable product database contains all products and ingredients reported to CSCP, with the exception of information designated as "trade secret." The website enables the public to look up specific products by name, company name, or chemical ingredient. The database can also be used by reporting companies to easily verify what has previously been reported and identify information that requires updating.