Skip Navigation LinksCHCQHome

Center for Health Care Quality

Welcome to the Center for Health Care Quality. Our center is comprised of two programs: Healthcare Associated Infections (HAI) and Licensing and Certification (L&C). Both play a critical role in the protection of patient safety in California.

Healthcare Associated Infections Program

The Healthcare Associated Infections Program (HAI) carries out its mission to improve care quality and patient safety through the prevention of infections in California health care facilities. HAI accomplishes this through assistance with prevention activities, development of infection prevention recommendations, and implementation of mandatory public reporting of health care associated infection data.

Licensing and Certification Program

Centralized Applications Unit: The Centralized Applications Unit's mission is to ensure standardization and consistency of the state licensing and federal certification application process. The unit is responsible for reviewing, analyzing, and evaluating requests for facility licensure and/or certification as well as processing of other license associated transactions submitted by facility providers for approval.

Field Operations Branch: The Field Operations Branch has regulatory oversight of skilled nursing facilities, hospitals, and many other health-care facilities. The branch includes more than 600 Health Facility Evaluation Nurses, physicians and other medical consultants who regularly survey facilities and investigate complaints to determine compliance with state laws and regulations. Our survey teams also consider compliance with federal statutes if the facilities receive Medicare or Medi-Cal reimbursement.

Professional Certification Branch: The Professional Certification Branch administers the certification of nurse assistants (CNAs), home health aides (HHAs), and hemodialysis technicians (CHTs) and conducts investigations of complaints against them. The branch administers the licensing and regulation of nursing home administrators (NHAs). It also oversees the approval of the CNA, HHA, and CHT training programs and continuing education, and the criminal record clearance of these four health care professional types.

Page Last Updated :