Skip Navigation LinksHAI_LiaisonIP

healthcare-associated infections (HAI) program

HAI Liaison IP Program

The regional HAI Liaison Infection Preventionist (IP) Program provides non-regulatory consultation and assistance to support HAI prevention.

Hospitals may request liaison IP assistance for:

  • An onsite assessment if HAI incidence remains high
  • Reccomendations of HAI prevention strategies
  • Help with HAI surveillance or data validation methods
  • Suggestions for HAI data analysis, interpretation, and feedback to care providers

A liaison IP team is assigned to three defined regions:

HAI Program Region 1

Liaison IP Team
Terry Nelson, MBA, RN, CIC, Terry.Nelosn@cdph.ca.gov
Lori Schaumleffel, BSN, RN, PHN, CIC, Lori.Schaumleffel@cdph.ca.gov
Liaison IP (to be hired)

​Alameda​KingsNevada​​Siskiyou
​Amador​Lake​Placer​Solano
​Butte​Lassen​Plumas​Sonoma
​Calaveras​Madera​Sacramento​Stanislaus
​Colusa​Marin​San Benito​Sutter
​Contra Costa​Mariposa​San Francisco​Tehama
​Del Norte​Mendocino​San Joaquin​Trinity
​El Dorado​Merced​San Mateo​Tuolumne
Fresno​​Modoc​Santa Clara​Yolo
​Glenn​Monterey​Santa Cruz​Yuba
​Humboldt​Napa​Shasta

HAI Program Region 2

Liaison IP Team
Zenith Khwaja, RN, MSN, MPH, CIC, Zeniith.Khwaja@cdph.ca.gov
Hosniyeh Bagheri, RN, BSN, CIC, Hosniyeh.Bagheri@cdph.ca.gov
Teresa Nelson, RN, BS, CIC, Teresa.Nelson@cdph.ca.gov
​Los Angeles​San Luis Obispo​Santa Barbara​Ventura

 HAI Program Region 3

Liaison IP Team
Shantala Ahanya, MBBS, CIC, Shantala.Ahanya@cdph.ca.gov
Idamae Kennedy, MPH, BSN, RN, CIC, Idamae.Kennedy@cdph.ca.gov
Hosniyeh Bagheri, RN, BSN, CIC, Hosniyeh.Bagheri@cdph.ca.gov
​Imperial​MonoRiverside​San Diego​
​Inyo​Orange​San Bernardino​Tulare
​Kern

Effective March 27, 2017 

Page Last Updated :